New Hampshire School Administrators Association
SERESC SmartEDU, Inc.    March 28, 2017  
NHSAA 2016 Outstanding Service Award

Mrs. Barbara Hopkins
Mrs. Barbara Hopkins
The New Hampshire School Administrators Association is pleased to announce Mrs. Barbara Hopkins, assistant superintendent of SAU #21, which serves the Hampton Falls, North Hampton, South Hampton, Seabrook, and Winnacunnet Cooperative school districts, as the 2016 Outstanding Service Award winner.

The NHSAA Outstanding Service Award was instituted in 1994 as an important form of recognition for the exceptional work of system educational leaders who are not superintendents of schools. Annually, members are invited to nominate colleagues for consideration by the selection committee. The judging committee uses criteria that include the individual's contribution to the educational achievement of his or her SAU, organizational improvement, initiative, professional growth, and service to public education.

Barbara earned her Master of Education in curriculum and instruction from Boston College in 1989. In 2008, she received her C.A.G.S. (Certificate of Advanced Graduate Studies) in educational administration and supervision from the University of New Hampshire. She is currently pursuing a doctorate in policy and leadership from the University of New Hampshire.

Barbara left the industry sector to begin her career as a chemistry teacher in 1981 first at Somersworth High School and then moving to Oyster River Cooperative High School in 1985. In 2000, she became the founding director of the University of New Hampshire IMPACT Center for Science and Mathematics Education, which transformed into the Leitzel Center for Science, Mathematics, and Engineering Education in 2004 where Barbara continued as the associate director. In 2006, she transitioned to the Timberlane Regional School District as the curriculum coordinator for science, technology, engineering, and mathematics. Barbara accepted the role of assistant superintendent of SAU #21 in 2010, a role she remains in today.

Barbara's role as a leader in the community is reflected in the praises of colleagues who supported her nomination. Dr. Robert Sullivan, superintendent of SAU #21, called Barbara "one of the loudest cheerleaders of excellence in public education." He says, "Working with Barbara has been a real pleasure for me. She is a school leader of great integrity and is a kind and supportive individual who sincerely cares about our students, staff, and community members."

Principal of the Lincoln Ackerman School, Mark Deblois, said, "I have often joked that Barbara is the SAU #21 'Energizer Bunny.'" Mark shares that the Seabrook Nuclear Power Station exists within the boundaries of the SAU, but prior to Barbara's arrival in 2010, there was no emergency response plan for a nuclear or other disaster. He reveals that Barbara "went to businesses within the greater community and raised the funds for emergency backpacks in every classroom throughout the district. I would submit that this SAU is as ready to respond to any type of emergency situation as any district in New Hampshire and that readiness is completely attributable to Barbara's foresight and commitment to the safety of our community."

Stephanie Lafreniere, principal of Seabrook Elementary School, praised Barbara's personal approach. "She knows everyone's name in my school and the role that they play within the larger community. She even does things in her spare time, such as making a piece of pottery for each staff member throughout the SAU who has a baby."

All members of the New Hampshire School Administrators Association join in congratulating Barbara on her outstanding leadership and work on behalf of SAU #21 and the state of New Hampshire.

NHSAA Awards
  • 2017 Superintendent of the Year
    Kathleen Murphy

  • NHSAA 2016 Outstanding Service Award
    Mrs. Barbara Hopkins

  • The 2016 Champions for Children - Regional Winners

  • Statewide Winner and 2016 Lakes Region Champion for Children
    Leslie Dion

  • 2016 North Country Region Champion for Children
    Sean O'Brien

  • 2016 South Central Region Champions for Children
    Chris & Laura Peterson

  • 2016 South East Region Champion for Children
    Lucy Cushman

  • 2016 South West Region Champion for Children
    Michael Morrison

    Developed by
    SmartEDU Development Team
    Copyright © 2000-2004 SmartEDU, Inc.
    All Rights Reserved